Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
28.02.2006 at 19:00 Attendance:
Netherlands 0 - 1 Rep of Ireland
Referee: Algarve Cup / T/S-match

None Cillian Sheridan (50)
Opening squads
Shane Redmond
Noel Haverty
Mark O'Toole
Andrew Callaghan
Gavin Donoghue
Michael Spillane
Shane Duggan
Paul Cahillane
Graham Carey
Harry Arter
Cillian Sheridan
Shane Clarke
Lorcan Fitzgerald
Corie Treacy
None Lorcan Fitzgerald -> Harry Arter (20)
Corie Treacy -> Andrew Callaghan (41)
Shane Clarke -> Cillian Sheridan (70)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Holland 0-1 Republic of Ireland

Sean McCaffrey’s Republic of Ireland under-17 side made it a winning end to their Algarve quadrangular tournament with victory over Holland on Tuesday afternoon.

The victory saw Ireland finish on six points after their three games, behind France, who claimed outright victory with seven points.

Cillian Sheridan, the promising Belvedere youngster, had gone close to an opener in the first half before breaking the deadlock early in the second.

West Ham starlet Lorcan Fitzgerald saw his effort rebound off the bar with the goalkeeper beaten, but Sheridan was on hand to convert the rebound.

Michael Spillane, the Norwich City trainee, immediately had a header palmed just over the bar, while Gavin Donoghue, of Sunderland, crashed a shot into the side-netting after the ensuing corner.

Ireland goalkeeper Shane Redmond, of Nottingham Forest, was named Goalkeeper of the Tournament after conceding just one game in the three games.

Boss McCaffrey said: “The two teams shared possession evenly, but we deserved to win it because we created five chances to their two.

“We were under a lot of pressure in the closing 15 minutes but we caught them three times on the break and were close to adding another goal.”

Republic of Ireland under-17: Shane Redmond (Nottingham Forest); Andrew Callaghan (Millwall), Mark O’Toole (Norwich City), Noel Haverty (St. Patrick’s), Gavin Donoghue (Sunderland), Michael Spillane (Norwich City), Paul Cahalane (Celtic), Shane Duggan (Fairview, Limerick), Harry Arter (Charlton Athletic), Cillian Sheridan (Belvedere), Graham Carey (Celtic).

Subs: Lorcan Fitzgerald (West Ham) for Arter (20 mins); Corie Treacy (Cherry Orchard) for Callaghan (half-time); Shane Clarke (Wembley Rovers, Limerick) for Sheridan (70 mins).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design