Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
26.01.2001 at 15:00 Vergeze Attendance:
France 1 - 0 Rep of Ireland
Referee: Friendly / DETAILS INCOMPLETE-match

None None.
Opening squads
None None.
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report

Pictures from the match
France u17 1 Republic of Ireland 0

For the second time in two days, Ireland's u17s mounted an impressive display against France. But this time, in Vergeze, it wasn't enough to secure anything from the game, with France winning by a single goal.

On Wednesday, the well-organised Irish had fought a determined rearguard action against the same opposition at Lunel and emerged with a scoreless draw, thanks in large part to a brilliant performance by Aston Villa 'keeper Wayne Henderson.

Henderson again earned his crust yesterday - but just when it looked as if the French would again be frustrated, up popped substitute William Mocquet, who finally accepted one of the many chances France had created.

Mocquet (Le Havre) scored with what was virtually his first touch, less than five minutes after entering the game.

"We deserved to win," French coach Francois Blaquart said afterwards. "My squad showed enthusiasm and energy and this win is going to do them good."

Ireland squad: Wayne Henderson (Aston Villa), Saul Deeney (Notts County), Mark Rossiter (Sunderland), Joe Kendricks (Newcastle United), Stephen Brennan (Newcastle United), Paddy McCarthy (Manchester City), Stephen Paisley (Manchester City), Keith Fahey (Aston Villa), Stephen Capper (Sunderland), Ian Simpemba (Wycombe Wanderers), Graham Ward (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Keith Gilroy (Middlesbrough), Sean Thornton (Tranmere Rovers), Adrian Deane (Charlton Athletic), Reineer Moor (Exeter City), Shay Saunders (Southampton), Brian Fitzgerald (QPR), Sean Dillon (Aston Villa).

French squad: Leandri Bonnefoi (Cannes), Mathieu Moreau (Nantes), Mansour Assoumani (Montpellier), Jean-Michel Badiane (PSG), Franck Béria (Metz), Cédric Bockhorni (Nancy-Lorraine), Gérald Cid (Bordeaux), Fabien Laurenti (Marseille), Franck Toye (Le Havre), Etienne Didot (Stade Rennais), Olivier Auriac (Bordeaux), Bruno Grougi (SM Caen), Nicolas Hislen (Monaco), Nicolas Karlamoff (SC Amiens), Jérémy Mathieu (FC Sochaux), Jérémie Aladière (Arsenal), Yannick Blanchard (CS Sedan), William Mocquet (Le Havre).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL D
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design