Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
09.05.2019 at 19:00 Tallaght Stadium Attendance:
Rep of Ireland 1 - 1 Belgium
Referee: Krzysztof Jakubik European Finals / PROG-match

Timi Sobowale (74)
Chris Kalulika 65 mins;
Opening squads
Jimmy Corcoran
James Furlong
Andrew Omibamidele
Seamus Keogh
Joshua Giurgi
Charlie Mc Cann
Sean Kennedy
Matt Everitt
Joe Hodge
Sean Mc Evoy
Timi Sobowale
Ait El Hadj;
Gavin Bazunu
Harry Halwax
Luke Turner
Anselmo Garcia Mc Nulty
Roland Idowu
Brandon Holt
Ronan Mc Kinley
Senne Lammens (G)
Yunus Bahadir
Tibo Persyn
François Xavier Engolo
Mathias De Wolf
Ameen Al Dakhil
Samuel Asoma
Franck Idumbo-Muzambo
Brandon Holt -> Joshua Giurgi (66)
Ronan Mc Kinley -> Charlie Mc Cann (66)
Roland Idowu -> Seamus Keogh (85)
Anselmo Garcia Mc Nulty -> Sean Kennedy (89)
François Xavier Engolo (in) - Thibo Baeten (out)70 mins;
Mathias De Wolf (in) - Anouar Ait El Hadj (out)79 mins;
Yunus Bahadir (in) - Hugo Siquet (out) 89 mins;
Yellow cards
None. Chris Kalulika 54 mins;
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
The adventure ended for Colin O'Brien's team in the same way that it began - with a team refusing to give in or divert away from their measured style of play.

In their three Group A games, Ireland displayed a calmness when in possession of the ball and linked play with their short passing & clever movement. In fact, O'Brien believes that their approach will help to change many people's perception of how Irish underage teams are trying to play.

There was no doubt in this game that Belgium were the better side. They were powerful, technically excellent, and frightening on the break. Still, Ireland matched them in every department and put them on the back foot at times.

Yes, goalkeeper Jimmy Corcoran - one of four changes to Ireland's line-up from their previous games with Czech Republic - did have to make some important saves, but equally Matt Everitt and Sean Kennedy caused problems for the Belgian backline.

On 65 minutes, Chris Kaliuka opened the scoring for Belgium with a close range finish but Timi Sobowale pulled one back for Ireland when he cooly slotted in at the back post following an excellent set-piece delivery from James Furlong.

Ireland finished strongly, with Joe Hodge impressing in midfield, but the victory required to reach the quarter-finals was just that too far out of reach.

However, this Ireland team can hold their head up high due to their three performances in this year's tournament. The future is bright for a lot of these players.

Belgium: Vandevoordt; Siquet (Bahadir 89), Landu, Sardella, Nizet; George, Kana, Ait El Hadj (de Wolf 79); Kalulika, Baeten (Engolo 70), Doku.

Republic of Ireland: Corcoran; McEvoy, Sobowale, Omobamidele, Furlong; Keogh (Idowu 85), Hodge; Giurgi (Holt 66), McCann (McKinley 66), Kennedy (McNulty 88); Everitt.

Referee: Krzysztof Jakubik (Poland).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design