Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
14.05.2018 at 19:00 Chesterfield FC Stadium, Attendance:
Netherlands 1 - 1
(5 - 4 PEN.)
Rep of Ireland
Referee: Zbynek Proske European Finals / PROG-match

Liam Van Gelderen 62 mins; Troy Parrott (64)
Opening squads
Q Maduro (Mamengi 80),
Van Gelderen,
J Maduro,
Tavsan (Brobbey 51)
Jimmy Corcoran
Nathan Collins
Kameron Ledwidge
Oisin Mc Entee
Max Murphy
Callum Thompson
Jason Knight
Tyriek Wright
Barry Coffey
Troy Parrott
Adam Idah
Mees Bakker (G)
Nordin Musampa
Nigel Thomas
Ryan Gravenberch
Cristopher Mamengi
Brian Brobbey
Toshio Lake
Kenzo Goudmijn
Sean Bohan
Conor Grant
Ray O Sullivan
Adam O Reilly
Marc Walsh
Sean Brennan
Jordan Mc Eneff
Brian Brobbey (in) - Elayis Tavsan (out) 50 mins;
Cristopher Mamengi (in) - Quinten Timber (out) 80+3 mins
Adam O Reilly -> Tyriek Wright (80)
Yellow cards
None Troy Parrott (54)
Jimmy Corcoran (59)
Jimmy Corcoran (81)
Red cards
None Jimmy Corcoran (81)
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
The Republic of Ireland Under 17s were cruelly denied a place in the UEFA European Championship semi-finals following penalty shoot-out heartache.

14th May 2018

After drawing 1-1 with Netherlands at Chesterfield Stadium, Ireland forced the game into a shoot-out (extra-time is not played in this tournament) and goalkeeper Jimmy Corcoran almost became a hero.

The Cherry Orchard schoolboy saved magnificently from Dutch captain Daishawn Redan, but he was adjudged to have come off his goalline too early and picked up a second yellow card as a result. Redan then fired the re-take past Oisin McEntee, who had to put the keeper’s jersey on.

It was a cruel way for Colin O’Brien’s squad to bow out of a tournament where they displayed incredible skill, composure and bravery over the course of four games.

Following victories over Denmark and Bosnia & Herzegovina, Ireland set up this knock-out game against the tournament favourites and they were not one bit overawed.

While the Dutch bossed the majority of possession early on, they could not find a way past a well-held defensive line. In fact, they triggered the offside trap on three occasions in the first half alone.

Ireland clawed back some territory in the second period and went close to scoring when captain Nathan Collins rose highest to meet Tyriek Wright’s corner but his header whistled over the crossbar.

The Dutch, however, always posed a threat and they tested the reactions of goalkeeper Jimmy Corcoran on 56 minutes with a long-range effort from Wouter Burger.

The deadlock was broken on 62 minutes when a perfectly delivered corner kick by Mohammed Ihattaren was complimented by a strong header from Liam Van Gelderen.

Ireland hit back just two minutes later when Parrott cooly finished off a slick attacking move that saw Barry Coffey pull the ball back to the Tottenham Hotspur youngster to equalise in style.

O’Brien’s side kept the pressure on with Oisin McEntee heading over and a stinging shot from Jason Knight, but they could not find a winner so the game had to go to a penalty shoot-out.

Dutch goalkeeper Joey Koorevaar saved from Adam Idah in the first spot-kick before Parrott, Max Murphy, Knight, and Callum Thompson converted. Then Corcoran pulled off a heroic save but referee Zbynek Proske made his decision.

Ireland can depart this tournament with their heads held high and be proud of the football they played right until the very end.

Adam Idah (Republic of Ireland) missed the penalty saved by the goalkeeper.

1" Jimmy Corcoran (Republic of Ireland) is shown a second yellow card and is dismissed.

Wouter Burger (Netherlands) scores from the penalty spot.

Troy Parrott (Republic of Ireland) scores from the penalty spot.

Mohamed Ihattaren (Netherlands) scores from the penalty spot.

Max Murphy (Republic of Ireland) scores from the penalty spot.

Brian Brobbey (Netherlands) scores from the penalty spot.

Jason Knight (Republic of Ireland) scores from the penalty spot.

Jurriën Timber (Netherlands) scores from the penalty spot.

Callum Thompson (Republic of Ireland) scores from the penalty spot.

Daishawn Redan (Netherlands) scores from the penalty spot.

Republic of Ireland: Corcoran; Murphy, McEntee, Collins, Ledwidge; Coffey, Knight, Parrott; Wright (O’Reilly 80), Idah, Thompson.

Netherlands: Koorevaar; Q Maduro (Mamengi 80), Van Gelderen, J Maduro, Hendriks; Franken, Ihattaren, Burger; Summerville, Redan, Tavsan (Brobbey 51).

Referee: Zbynek Proske (Czech Republic).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design