Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
05.05.2018 at 17:45 Loughborough University Stadium, Loughborough Attendance:
Belgium 2 - 0 Rep of Ireland
Referee: Vilhjalmur Thorarinsson European Finals / PROG-match

Sekou Sidibe 34 mins,
Yorbe Vertessen 68 mins;
Opening squads
Raskin ©,
Mvom Onana,
Suray (Timassi 66);
Yayi Mpie (Doku 66),
Jimmy Corcoran
Oisin Mc Entee
Max Murphy
Nathan Collins
Kameron Ledwidge
Jason Knight
Tyriek Wright
Barry Coffey
Sean Brennan
Troy Parrott
Adam Idah
Maarten Vandevoordt (G)
Loic Masscho
Yari Verschaeren
Gabriel Lemoine
Elias Sierra
Killian Sardella
Halim Timassi
Jéremy Doku
Kian Clarke
Conor Grant
Ray O Sullivan
Adam O Reilly
Luca Connell
Callum Thompson
Ryan Cassidy
Marc Walsh
Jordan Mc Eneff
Halim Timassi (in) - Mathis Suray (out)66 mins,
Jéremy Doku (in) - Jamie Yayi Mpie (out) 66 MINS;
Callum Thompson -> Sean Brennan (61)
Yellow cards
Nicolas Raskin 76 mins
Sekou Sidibe 80+3 mins,
Nathan Collins (72)
Jason Knight (76)
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report

Pictures from the match
The Republic of Ireland Under 17’s got their European Under 17 Championship campaign off to a disappointing start as they went down 2-0 to Belgium at Loughborough University Stadium.

Goals in either half from Sekou Sidibe and Yorbe Vertessen ensured a clinical Belgian side claimed the three points.

Ireland opened the brighter but fell behind in the 34th minute when Sidibe slotted home the rebound after Nicolas Raskin’s initial effort came back off the crossbar.

Adam Idah called Nick Shinton into action in the Belgian goal on a number of occasions in the second period. The Ireland forward was denied in the 52nd minute when he got on the end of a long ball from Max Murphy.

Idah was frustrated again by Shinton eight minutes later as the Belgian keeper tipped the Corkman’s effort around the post. From the resulting corner Nathan Collins headed inches wide as Ireland continued to push for an opening.

Disaster was to strike though for Colin O’Brien’s side with 12 minutes remaining when Yorbe Vertessen was quickest to a rebound to put the Belgians into a lead they would not relinquish.

Next up for Ireland is a crucial clash with Denmark on Tuesday in St George’s Park.

Republic of Ireland: Corcoran; Murphy, Ledwidge, McEntee, Collins ©; Knight, Coffey, Brennan (Thompson 61); Idah, Parrott, Wright.

Belgium: Shinton; Persyn, Lissens, Vandermeulen, Dendoncker; Raskin ©, Mvom Onana, Suray (Timassi 66); Vertessen, Yayi Mpie (Doku 66), Sidibe.

Referee: Vilhjalmur Thorarinsson (ISL)

Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design