Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
26.03.2022 at 19:30 St Georgie's Park Attendance:
Portugal 4 - 1 Rep of Ireland Under 19
Referee: Igor Pajac (Croatia) European Qualifier Elite Stage-match

Chermiti 78 mins,
Silva 84 mins;
Joelson 90+2 mins;
Chemiti 90+5 mins
Johnny Kenny (25)
Opening squads
Andre Gomes (GK),
João Tomé,
Chico Lamba,
António Silva,
Flávio Nazinho,
Martim Neto,
Nuno Félix,
João Neves,
Miguel Falé,
Diego Moreira,
Vasco Sousa.
Dan Rose
Bosun Lawal
Alex Murphy
Sean Roughan
James Abankwah
Jack Henry-Francis
Ed Mc Jannett
Evan Caffrey
Johnny Kenny
Cian Hayes
Andrew Moran
Joao Caraphinha Carvalho
Dario Essugo
Pedro Santos,
Youssef Chermiti,
Matchoi Djalo,
Diogo Travassos,
Gabriel Bras,
Forbs Borges
Josh Keeley
Sean Grehan
Babajide Ezekiel Adeeko
Kian Corbally
Glory Nzingo
Chermiti for Neto 46 mins;
Travassos for Nazinho 46 mins;
Joelson for Moreira 59 mins;
Djalo for Sousa 65 mins,
Santos for Neves 71 mins;
Glory Nzingo -> Cian Hayes (82)
Yellow cards
Nevesa 50 mins;
Moreira 57 mins;
Felix 57 mins;
Sousa 65 mins;
Chermiti 68 mins;
James Abankwah (52)
Cian Hayes (70)
Johnny Kenny (80)
Evan Caffrey (87)
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
The Republic of Ireland Men's Under-19s have been eliminated from the UEFA Under-19 European Championship Elite Phase after a 4-1 defeat to Portugal in St. George's Park, England.
26th Mar 2022

The result doesn't paint the full picture, with Ireland leading Portugal until the 78th minute thanks to Johnny Kenny's first-half strike. But their hardwork was undone by four goals in the second half, including a brace from second-half substitute Youssef Chermiti, undid the Irish side's good work.

Cian Hayes caused a lot of problems for the Portuguese side down the right side, as Ireland got off to a positive start in the game. Mohan's team was pressing hard and forcing Portugal to play far deeper in their own half.

After some good initial movement down the left, Andy Moran had a shot that rebounded off the crossbar and was cleared off the line, only for the ball to fall to Jonny Kenny, who headed the ball home and give Ireland the lead.

Dan Rose was forced to make a fine save from Joo Neves, who had the first glimpse on goal for the Portuguese. For both sides, Vasco Sousa and Evan Caffrey had chances, but neither could find the target. Miguel Falé had a shot just before halftime, but his attempt was stopped by Rose.

In the second half, Portugal continued to press for an equaliser, with António Silva and Joelson both edging closer. Chermiti would score Portugal's equaliser, breaking the Irish resistance and bringing the match level.

Silva would score a second Portuguese goal in the dying minutes of the game before Joelson and Chermiti added two further goals in time added. Rose was unfortunate not to stop the Portuguese frontmen from scoring, leading in a result that did not represent Ireland's performance.

Portugal: Andre Gomes (GK), João Tomé, Chico Lamba, António Silva, Flávio Nazinho (Diogo Travassos 46), Martim Neto (Youssef Chermiti 46), Nuno Félix, João Neves (Pedro Santos 71), Miguel Falé, Diego Moreira (Joelson 59), Vasco Sousa (Matchói Djaló 65).

Republic of Ireland: Daniel Rose (GK), James Abankwah, Mohammed Olabosun Lawal, Sean Roughan, Evan Caffrey, Edward McJannet, Jack Henry-Francis, Alex Murphy, Cian Hayes (Glory Nzingo 82), Johnny Kenny, Andrew Moran.

Referee: Igor Pajac (Croatia)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design