Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
30.05.2014 at 19:00 Tallaght Stadium Attendance:
Rep of Ireland Under 19 1 - 2 Turkey
Referee: Andris Treimanis (LVA) European Qualifier Elite Stage / T/S-match

Alan Browne (71)
Enes Ünal 50 mins,
İbrahim Aydın 79 mins,
Opening squads
Eric Grimes
Sean Long
Ryan Robinson
Bobby Moseley
Kyle Mc Fadden
Dylan Connolly
Alan Browne
Liam Kelly
Thomas Mulroney
Ryan Goldsmith
Sam Byrne
Gökhan Akkan,
Sefa İşçi,
Şevki Çinar,
Özgür Özdemir,
Doğan Erdoğan,
Vedat Bora,
Taylan Antalyali,
Oğulcan Çağlayan,
Muhammed Demirci,
Melih Okutan,
Enes Ünal.
Liam Bossin
Colm Crowe
Alan O Sullivan
Stephen Mc Carthy
Dylan Barnett
Alex O Hanlon
Mustafa Altıntaş
Mustafa Altıntaş
Idris Cengiz
İbrahim Aydın
Mert Kula
Altuğ Taş
Colm Crowe -> Thomas Mulroney (46)
Alex O Hanlon -> Liam Kelly (57)
Alan O Sullivan -> Ryan Goldsmith (84)
Mustafa Altıntaş for Enes Ünal 69 mins,
Altuğ Taş for Şevki Çinar 75 mins,
İbrahim Aydın for Vedat Bora 79 mins,
Yellow cards
Ryan Robinson (34)
Dylan Connolly (57)
Taylan Antalyalı (C) 13 mins,
Şevki Çınar 70 mins,
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Ireland U19s suffer UEFA Championships defeat to Turkey

Turkey 2-1 Republic of Ireland

PAUL Doolin’s Republic of Ireland U19 side suffered a disappointing 2-1 defeat by Turkey in the UEFA U19 Championships Elite Qualifying Round Group Four in Tallaght Stadium this evening.

The Irish produced a brave and disciplined display but ultimately conceded from two set pieces as Turkey claimed the three points.

Ireland had come very close to opening the scoring in the 13th minute when skipper Sean Long saw his effort come back off the Turkish upright after a teasing Ryan Goldsmith cross. Three minutes later Sam Byrne fired narrowly wide.

Irish keeper Eric Grimes had an excellent evening and showed his quality in the 38th minute when he kept out a close range effort from Melih Okutan then Enes Ünal’s rebound was blocked by Irish defender.

Ünal was denied by Grimes three minutes into the second half when the Turkish striker burst through on goal.

Grimes was finally beaten by a stunning free-kick from Ünal in the 50th minute after Alan Browne had been penalised for a challenge on Muhammed Demirci.

The home side were unlucky not to level three minutes later after a brilliant burst down the right by Dylan Connolly. His cross flew across the goalmouth and Goldsmith’s follow-up was cleared off line by defender.

Ünal had another spectacular strike kept out by Grimes in the 63rd minute but the sides were level eight minutes later. Connolly won a spot-kick after brilliantly bursting past defender Şevki Çinar and the influential Browne stepped up to fire past the keeper from the penalty.

A pivotal moment came in the 78th minute when Kyle McFadden’s long pass sent Sam Byrne through on goal. He beat a defender then was desperately unlucky to see a defender deflect his close range effort over the bar.

Two minutes later Grimes had to be at his best to push an effort from Melih Okutan around his right post. Unfortunately Ireland fell asleep from Demirci’s corner and İbrahim Serdar Aydin steered the ball home from close range.

Ireland chased the game for the remaining ten minutes normal time and five minutes added time but could not force a save from keeper Gökhan Akkan and the Turks held out to win. Ireland meet Serbia – who beat Iceland 6-0 today – at Tallaght Stadium on Monday (3.00pm) while Turkey meet Iceland at UCD Bowl at the same time.

TURKEY: Gökhan Akkan, Sefa İşçi, Şevki Çinar (Altuğ Taş 75), Özgür Özdemir, Doğan Erdoğan, Vedat Bora (İbrahim Aydın 79), Taylan Antalyali, Oğulcan Çağlayan, Muhammed Demirci, Melih Okutan, Enes Ünal (Mustafa Altıntaş 69).

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Eric Grimes, Ryan Robinson, Bobby Moseley, Kyle McFadden, Sean Long, Alan Browne, Dylan Connolly, Thomas Mulroney (Colm Crowe 46), Sam Byrne, Liam Kelly (Alex O'Hanlon 57), Ryan Goldsmith (Alan O'Sullivan 84).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design