Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
15.11.2018 at 15:00 Aviva Stadium Attendance:
Republic of Ireland 0 - 0 N Ireland
Referee: Slavenko Vincic (Slovenia) Friendly / Prog x 2-match

None. None
Opening squads
Darren Randolph
Daragh Lenihan
Seamus Coleman
John Egan
Shane Duffy
Callum O Dowda
Robert Brady
Jeff Hendrick
Glen Whelan
James Mc Clean
Callum Robinson
Bailey Peacock-Farrell;
Michael Smith,
Craig Cathcart,
Jonny Evans,
Jamal Lewis;
Steven Davis,
George Saville;
Gavin Whyte ,
Corry Evans,
Stuart Dallas;
Liam Boyce
Cyrus Christie
Enda Stevens
Conor Hourihane
Ronan Curtis
Seanie Maguire
Scott Hogan
Conor Hourihane -> Glen Whelan (36)
Ronan Curtis -> Callum O Dowda (45)
Enda Stevens -> James Mc Clean (66)
Seanie Maguire -> Callum Robinson (66)
Scott Hogan -> Seanie Maguire (79)
Cyrus Christie -> Daragh Lenihan (84)
Jordan Jones for White 61 mins,
Paddy Mc Nair for Evans 65 mins,
Kyle Rafferty for Boyce 71 mins,
Jamie Ward for Smith 74 mins,
Yellow cards
None. None
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
The Republic of Ireland warmed up for their crucial UEFA Nations League match against Denmark with a hard-fought 0-0 draw with Northern Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Thursday evening.

Glenn Whelan captained the side in what will more than likely be his 85th and final cap for the Boys in Green but his international career wouldn’t end on a winning note.

Michael O’Neill’s side ought to have taken the lead in the 14th minute as Gavin Whyte raced onto Stuart Dallas’ neat lay off but he was denied by a stunning save from Darren Randolph when through on goal.

The Republic’s best opportunities of a tight first half came from set pieces but neither Shane Duffy nor Darragh Lenihan could direct their respective headers from Robbie Brady’s frees past the visiting keeper.

The North finished the opening period strongly but Stuart Dallas’ low drive from the edge of the area was well saved by Randolph before Michael Smith flashed a powerful attempt narrowly over seconds before the half-time whistle was blown by the referee.

Martin O’Neill’s side threatened to edge in front just shy of the hour mark but Callum Robinson fired over James McClean’s dragged shot after the Derry native had initially been picked out by a superb cross from Seamus Coleman.

In the end, they needed further heroics from Randolph – who was voted man of the match- to ensure that they didn’t head into Monday’s match away to the Danes having suffered a demoralising defeat.

The Middlesbrough shot-stopper remained calm when substitute Jordan Jones burst clear on goal with 18 minutes remaining and he was somehow able to turn the goal-bound effort over his crossbar with his outstretched leg.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Darren Randolph; Seamus Coleman, Darragh Lenihan (Cyrus Christie 84), Shane Duffy, John Egan, James McClean (Enda Stevens 66); Glenn Whelan (Conor Hourihane 36), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady, Callum O’Dowda (Ronan Curtis 45); Callum Robinson (Sean Maguire 66 (Scott Hogan 79)).

NORTHERN IRELAND: Bailey Peacock-Farrell; Michael Smith (Jamie Ward 74), Craig Cathcart, Jonny Evans, Jamal Lewis; Steven Davis, George Saville; Gavin Whyte (Jordan Jones 61), Corry Evans (Paddy McNair 65), Stuart Dallas; Liam Boyce (Kyle Lafferty 71).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design