Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
26.09.2008 at 19:00 Young Boys Diekirch Attendance:
Luxembourg 1 - 1 Rep of Ireland
Referee: Hubert Siejewicz (POL) EC Qualifying Round / T/S-match

Tom Laterza 78 mins; Michael Rafter (29)
Opening squads
Sacha Mensch
Tom Laterza
Pit Hess
Chris Philipps
Christophe De Sousa
Joël Pedro
Sergio Texeira
Raphaël De Sousa
Maurice Deville
Aydine Correia
Tony Mastrangelo
Ciaran Gallagher
Daniel Joyce
Anthony O'Connor
Eoghan Osbourne
John Egan
Ryan Connolly
Stephen Mc Donnell
Sean Stewart
Jeff Hendrick
Michael Rafter
Patrick Mc Eleney
Luca Theis
Vic Speller
Joé Schroeder
Pit Siebenaler
Ryan Klapp
Yannick Bastos
Max Thillmann
Josh Byrne
Daniel Fitzsimons
Bryan Murphy
Eoin Wearen
Sean Skelly
David O'Leary
Jordan Philpott
Tony Mastrangelo (out)
Max Thillmann (in)62 mins;
Aydine Correia (out)
Yannick Bastos (in)80+3 mins;
David O'Leary -> Patrick Mc Eleney (68)
Jordan Philpott -> Ryan Connolly (73)
Yellow cards
Pit Hess 39 mins;
Maurice Deville 78 mins;
Michael Rafter (80)
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report

Pictures from the match
UEFA Under-17 Championship qualifying - First Phase Group 5 (Diekirch):

Republic of Ireland 1-1 Luxembourg

Sean McCaffrey’s Irish Under-17 team looked set for a winning start to their UEFA Under-17 Championship qualifying campaign today Diekirch until a late equaliser was scored by Luxembourg.

Ireland dominated the first half but had to be patient against a well-drilled Luxembourg defence.

Michael Rafter went close to opening the scoring for the Irish after only three minutes but his shot sailed over the bar from the edge of the box.

Ireland had another opportunity through Ryan Connolly, whose header from eight yards angled wide on 24 minutes.

The goal eventually did arrive on 29 minutes when Pat McEleney fed a pass through for Rafter to seize on and drill into the net from ten yards.

It could have been 2-0 within sixty seconds through Rafter again only for his snap-shot from just inside the box to go marginally off-target.

Luxembourg started the second half with a lot more tempo and twice blasted shot over Ciaran Gallagher’s crossbar within two minutes of the restart.

Gallagher was made work on 48 minutes when the home side carved out a good opening but the Finn Harps stopper was equal to the effort.

Ireland’s two strikers, Rafter and McEleney, remained lively in attack and each of them were unlucky not to extend the lead.

Midfielder Jeff Hendrick also got forward to try his luck with eight minutes left but his shot was well blocked by Luxembourg’s full-back.

Two minutes from the finish, Luxembourg drew level. Laterza controlled a pass brilliantly, before spinning around past John Egan and lobbing Gallagher for a great finish.

Republic of Ireland:
1. Ciaran Gallagher - Finn Harps
2. Danny Joyce - Reading
3. Eoghan Osbourne – Drogheda United
4. Anthony O’Connor - Blackburn Rovers
5. John Egan - Greenwood
6. Stephen McDonnell – Celtic
7. Sean Stewart – St. Kevin’s Boys
8. Jeff Hendrick - Derby County
9. Patrick McEleney – Foyle Harps (replaced by David O’Leary 68)
10. Michael Rafter - Colchester United
11. Ryan Connolly - Derby County (replaced by Jordan Philpott 72)

16. Josh Byrne - Waterford Bohs
17. Jordan Philpott – Blackburn Rovers
12. Sean Skelly - Belvedere
13. Eoin Wearen – West Ham
14. David O’Leary - College Corinthians
15. Bryan Murphy – Listowel Celtic
18. Danny Fitzsimons – Millwall (in for Leigh Swords)

Referee: Hubert Siejewicz (POL).

Remaining Fixtures:
Sunday, September 28
Andorra v Republic of Ireland– Diekirch (7pm)
Wednesday, October 1
Republic of Ireland v Greece – Beggen (7pm).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design