Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
16.09.2007 at 19:00 Lissywoolen, Athlone Attendance:
Rep of Ireland 2 - 0 Denmark
Referee: EC Qualifying Round / PROG-match

Aaron Doran (31)
Mark Connolly (40)
Opening squads
Gerard Hanley
Pauric Ormsby
Mark Connolly
Gavin Gunning
Richie Towell
Johnny Dunleavy
Conor Hourihane
Aaron Doran
Greg Cunningham
Conor Clifford
Paul Murphy-91
Nicolai Oppen Larsen
Christopher G. Olezyk
Mathias Reimer Larsen
Alexander Juel Andersen
Kasper Kirkegaard Hans
Jens Stryger Larsen
David Boysen
Emil Larsen
Nikola Saric
Mads Lund Brandis
Martin Lund Pedersen
Harry Lee
Mark Power
Niall Byrne
John Sullivan
Gavan Holohan
David Heagney
Karl Sheppard
Esben Hojmark
Kevin Niclas Mensah
Azad Corlu
Rasmus Linge Christens
Christian Danemann Erikse
Daniel Lund Lindsten
Karl Sheppard -> Paul Murphy-91 (57)
David Heagney -> Greg Cunningham (69)
Niall Byrne -> Aaron Doran (81)
Mads Lund Brandis (out)
Christian Danemann Erikse (in)38 mins;
Martin Lund Pedersen (out)
Azad Corlu (in)53 mins;
Jens Stryger Larsen (out)
Kevin Niclas Mensah (in)62 mins;
Yellow cards
Richie Towell (42)
David Boysen 80+3 mins;
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
UEFA Under-17 Championships, First Phase Qualifier
Full-time score

Republic of Ireland 2 – 0 Denmark
Doran 30
Connolly 38

Ireland surged into a commanding half-time lead against Denmark tonight courtesy of a goal each in the space of eight minutes by Aaron Doran and Mark Connolly.

Irish manager Sean McCaffrey named an unchanged starting team from the side that defeated Ukraine 3-1 in their first match on Friday at Terryland Park.

Qualification into the second, Elite phase of the UEFA Under-17 Championship was sealed tonight and Ireland go through as group winners because, with six points, they cannot be caught in the table.

The Irish are hosting the four-nation mini-group which also involves Denmark, Slovenia and Ukraine. Denmark drew 1-1 with Slovenia in the opening game of the group on Friday and today’s match between Slovenia and Ukraine also ended 1-1. Ireland went into tonight’s match top of the group following their win on Friday.

The two teams in the group who finish first and second advance to the next stage while third place could also mean progression depending on the outcome of the other twelve groups.

Republic of Ireland Under-17 Team:
Gerard Hanley – Salthill Devon
Padraig Orsmby – Crumlin United
John Dunleavy – Wolverhampton Wanderers
Mark Connolly – Wolverhampton Wanderers
Gavin Gunning – Blackburn Rovers
Richard Towell – Celtic
Aaron Doran – Blackburn Rovers
Conor Hourihane – Sunderland
Greg Cunningham – Manchester City
Conor Clifford – Chelsea (Captain)
Paul Murphy – Ipswich Town
Gavin Holohan – Cherry Orchard
Ronan Forde - Salthill Devon
Niall Byrne - Shelbourne
John Sullivan – Crumlin Utd
Karl Sheppard – Everton
David Heagney – Huddersfield Town
Mark Power - Aston Villa
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design