Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
21.02.2008 at 19:30 Buckley Park Attendance: 600
Rep of Ireland 6 - 1 Finland
Referee: G Kelly Friendly / TS-match

Greg Cunningham (7)
Robert Brady (29)
Darragh Satelle (32)
Conor Hourihane (44)
Paul Murphy-91 (46)
John Sullivan (60)
Kokkinen 25 mins;
Opening squads
Gavin Carlin
Johnny Dunleavy
Shaun Timmins
Pauric Ormsby
Kallum Keane
Robert Brady
Greg Cunningham
Conor Clifford
John Sullivan
Darragh Satelle
Paul Murphy-91
Dalla Valle
Brian Nolan
Wayne Brutton
Conor Hourihane
Dean Kelly
Gavan Holohan
Ciaran Coll
Shane Howard
Lee Jay Lynch
Conor Hourihane -> Robert Brady (41)
Gavan Holohan -> Paul Murphy-91 (52)
Lee Jay Lynch -> Conor Clifford (52)
Shane Howard -> Greg Cunningham (57)
Ciaran Coll -> Shaun Timmins (66)
Dean Kelly -> Darragh Satelle (66)
Wayne Brutton -> Pauric Ormsby (66)
Brian Nolan -> John Sullivan (66)
Yellow cards
None. None
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report

Pictures from the match
Republic of Ireland Under 17 6-1 Finland Under 17

Sean McCaffrey's Republic of Ireland side were hoping to build on their 3-0 victory over Finland on Tuesday night and the Irish got off to a flying start, Conor Clifford had a glorious opportunity to open the scoring after only five minutes. The Chelsea midfielder made a darting run into the box and he powered a low shot to the keepers left which he palmed away to safety.

Two minutes later, the Irish were ahead through the boot of Greg Cunningham, he shot low and hard just inside the box to the left bottom corner which Finnish keeper, Lehtila got the faintest touch which wasn't enough to keep it out.

Finland drew level after 25 Minutes, Sean McCaffrey's side gave away a needless freekick from 25 yards out, Finland striker, Eetu Kokkinen provided an in-swinging freekick which evaded all in the box and flew past Gavin Carlin in the Irish goal.

Ireland's response was almost instant and Robert Brady netted Ireland's second goal in the 29th minute. Paul Murphy provided a teasing cross into the Finnish box and Finland's keeper, Olli Lehtila spilled the ball under the aerial challenge of Brady, the Manchester United man pounced on the dropping ball and his effort struck the post but he held his nerve and stuck the ball into the back of the net with his rebound.

It was 3-1 after 22 minutes, Paul Murphy ran on to a cutting through ball that caught the Finland defence flat-footed, Murphy flew down the right wing and he provided an inch perfect low cross to Darragh Satelle who nicked the ball over the on-rushing keeper to give his side a two-goal cushion going into the break.

After the break, Sean McCaffrey's side looked to add more goals and they pushed forward with great purpose, with only four minutes into the second half, substitute, Conor Hourihane stunned the visitors with an outstanding strike in the edge of the box, his powerful strike gave no chance to Lehtila in the Finnish goal to make it 4-1.

After 46 minutes, the rampant Irish made it 5-1. Greg Cunningham left his marker for dead on the left wing and he held the ball up on the by-line and chipped in a precise cross to Paul Murphy who had the easy task of nodding home from six yards.

As the game wore on, Sean McCaffrey used his bench to great effect with the introduction of all eight outfield substitutes, their introduction added a fierce hunger to heap more misery on the visiting Finnish team. On the hour mark, substitute Lee-Jay Lynch beat his marker for pace on the right wing and he swung in an out-swinging cross to John Sullivan who powered his header low to the keepers left, Lehtila managed to get down low to his effort but palmed it into the back of the net to make the score, 6-1.

Republic of Ireland: Gavin Carlin, Pauric Ormsby, John Sullivan, Kallum Keane, Shaun Timmins ,John Dunleavy, Greg Cunningham, Conor Clifford, Darragh Satelle, Paul Murphy, Robert Brady

Subs: Ger Hanley, Conor Hourihane (on for Robert Brady, HT), Shane Howard (on for Greg Cunningham, 57 Mins), Gavan Holohan (on for Paul Murphy, 52 Mins), Ciaran Coll (on for Shaun Timmons, 66 Mins), Lee-Jay Lynch (on for Conor Clifford, 52 Mins), Dean Kelly (on for Darragh Satelle, 66 Mins), Wayne Brutton (on for Pauric Ormsby, 66 Mins), Brian Nolan (on for John Sullivan, 66 Mins)

Finland: Lehtila, Appel, Koskimaki, Nissinen, Mantyla, Simpanen, Poutiainen, Haapala, Sotka, Kokkinen, Dalla Valle

Subs: Kelo, Toivomaki, Schuller, Raanankari, Ring, Alonen, Hanhela
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design