Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
08.09.2009 at 15:00 Tallaght Stadium Attendance:
Rep of Ireland Under 19 0 - 1 Portugal
Referee: Declan Hanney Clarion Hotel Four-nation Tour / PROG T/S-match

None. Sana 53 mins;
Opening squads
Ciaran Gallagher
Andy Boyle
John Egan
Robert Kiernan
Conor Hourihane
Richard Towell
Greg Cunningham
Darren Mc Auley
Conor Clifford
Joe Mason
David Heagney
Joao Figueirdo,
Nuno Reis – Capt.,
Ricardo Dias,
Nelson Oliveira,
Alexandre Freitas,
Ciaran Gallagher
Shane Mc Eleney
Robert Brady
Gearoid Morrissey
Stephen Mc Donnell
Patrick Mc Eleney
Ronan Murray
Luis Almeida
Gearoid Morrissey -> John Egan (41)
Robert Brady -> Robert Kiernan (41)
Ronan Murray -> Conor Clifford (41)
Shane Mc Eleney -> Conor Hourihane (41)
Patrick Mc Eleney -> Joe Mason (53)
Stephen Mc Donnell -> Darren Mc Auley (75)
Cedric for Freitas 62 mins;
Luis Almeda for Balde 68 mins;
Zahavi for Sana 80 mins;
Yellow cards
None. None
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
Having already recorded a draw against the Netherlands and victory over Turkey, Ireland went into their final match looking to claim overall victory in the tournament.

However, those hopes were dashed when a superb goal from Portugal playmaker Sana claimed three points for Portugal, their first win of the tournament.

Nelson Oliveira got the first glimpse of goal on 11 minutes but Rob Kiernan stole the ball off his toe just in time to concede a corner.

Alexandre Freitas was next to fashion an opportunity for Portugal but his shot from 12 yards went well over Ciaran Gallagher’s crossbar on 23 minutes.

Two minutes later Ireland appealed for a penalty when Greg Cunningham was blocked when running through on goal. However, referee Declan Hanney pointed to the corner flag instead.

Ireland began to apply increasing pressure as the first half wound to a close, particularly down the right hand side of the pitch, but they could find no way through the Portuguese defence.

Portugal almost broke the deadlock 7 minutes into the second half but Freitas’s shot from 20 yards came back off the post.

Moments later, Ireland came agonosingly close when Robbie Brady’s free kick caused panic in the penalty area but goalkeeper Figueiredo managed to collect amidst a sea of bodies.

Portugal broke the deadlock in spectacular fashion after 53 minutes when Sana curled his effort from 20 yards into the top corner to make it 1-0 to Portugal.

A speculative long range effort from Patrick McEleney on 62 minutes, easily stopped by Figueiredo, was as close as the Irish could come to an equaliser.

McEleney was again centre of the action on 73 minutes when he fed the ball through to Ronan Murray. However, Figueiredo was quick off his line and raced to the ball ahead of the Irish striker.

Republic of Ireland: Ciaran Gallagher, Richie Towell, Greg Cunningham, John Egan (Gearoid Morrissey, h/t), Rob Kiernan (Robert Brady, h/t), David Heagney, Conor Clifford – Capt. (Ronan Murray, h/t), Conor Hourihane (Shane McEleney, h/t), Andrew Boyle, Joe Mason (Patrick McEleney, 53 mins), Darren McCauley (Stephen McDonnell, 75 mins.)

Portugal: Joao Figueirdo, Amorim, Nuno Reis – Capt., Roderick, Ricardo Dias, Nelson Oliveira, Sana (Zahavi, 80 mins), Alexandre Freitas (Cedric, 62 mins), Danilo, Pele, Balde (Luis Almeida, 68 mins.)

Referee: Declan Hanney
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design