Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
04.03.2003 at 19:00 Attendance:
Portugal 2 - 1 Rep of Ireland
Referee: Tournament-match

None Stephen Foley- Sheridan
Opening squads
Terry Masterson
Noel Byrne
Joe O Brien
Gerard Nash
Stephen Foley- Sheridan
Aidan Mc Geady
Alan Sheahan
Patrick Cregg
Ciaran Lyng
Leon Best
Gerry Gill
Darren O'Brien
Andrew Keogh
None Darren O'Brien -> Gerry Gill (20)
Andrew Keogh -> Darren O'Brien (87)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report

Pictures from the match
Portugal 2-1 Rep of Ireland
Noel O’Reilly’s under-17 side lost out on the chance to become yet another victorious Irish underage side when going down to Portugal after the hosts were awarded a controversial second half penalty that led to the winning goal.

The Irish boys led through an early goal from Stephen Foley-Sheridan, who also netted in the 3-1 victory over Norway on Sunday.

The Aston Villa youngster finished off a sweeping move to put the boys in green ahead and on course for the tournament victory – a draw would have been enough for the Irish to finish top of the four-team group, by virtue of superior victories over Russia and Norway over the weekend.

The Portuguese hauled themselves back into the tie with an equaliser just before half-time, and soon after the break the hosts forged 2-1 ahead after successfully converting a penalty, the award of which was greeted with stern protests from the Irish players, who were convinced the Portuguese attacker had played for the decision.

The home side held on for the victory under strong pressure from the Irish, and the Irish underage set-up emerged with credit from yet another international tournament.

Rep of Ireland: Masterson (Millwall), Byrne (Cherry Orchard), Lyng (Preston North End), Sheehan (Belvedere), Nash (Ipswich), McGeady (Celtic), Foley-Sheridan (Aston Villa), Cregg (Arsenal), Gill (Derry City), J. O’Brien (Bolton), Best (Notts County).

Substitutes: D O’Brien (Belvedere) for Gill, Keogh (Leeds) for D O’Brien.
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design