Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
26.07.2023 at 13:00 Perth Rectangual Stadium Attendance:
Canada 2 - 1 Ireland
Referee: Laura Fortunato (Argentina) World Cup-match

Megan Connolly og 45+5 mins,
Adrian Leon 53mins
Katie Mc Cabe (4)
Opening squads
Kailen Sheridan;
Jayde Riviere,
Kadeisha Buchanan,
Vanessa Gilles,
Ashley Lawrence;
Julia Grosso;
Adriana Leon,
Jessie Fleming,
Jordyn Huitema;
Evelyn Viens.
Courtney Brosnan
Niamh Fahey
Megan Connolly
Louise Quinn
Katie Mc Cabe
Sinead Farrelly
Denise O Sullivan
Ruesha Littlejohn
Aine O Gorman
Lucy Quinn
Kyra Carusa
Lysianne PROULX
Deanne ROSE
Christine SINCLAIR
Nichelle PRINCE
Gabrielle CARLE
Olivia SMITH
Grace Moloney
Megan Walsh
Chloe Mustaki
Claire O Riordan
Lilly Agg
Diane Caldwell
Ciara Grant (93)
Abbie Larkin
Heather Payne
Marissa Sheva
Amber Barrett
Isibeal Atkinson
Shelina Zadorsky for Buchanan 46 mins,
Christine Sinclair for Grosso 46 mins,
Sophie Schmidt for Viens 46 mins,
Cloe Lacasse for Leon 57 mins,
Abbie Larkin -> Lucy Quinn (46)
Marissa Sheva -> Aine O Gorman (57)
Lilly Agg -> Ruesha Littlejohn (65)
Isibeal Atkinson -> Sinead Farrelly (65)
Amber Barrett -> Kyra Carusa (65)
Yellow cards
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
A superb opening goal from Katie McCabe wasn't enough as Ireland lost 2-1 to Canada in the Perth Rectangular Stadium.
26th Jul 2023

In what was their second game of FIFA Women's World Cup 2023, Vera Pauw's team were in front inside the first five minutes after captain McCabe scored directly from a corner kick.

Ireland took the Olympic winners by surprise and continued to cause trouble for them with midfielders Sinead Farrelly and Denise O'Sullivan going close with efforts on goal.

Pauw had made one change to the starting XI from the defeat to Australia with Lucy Quinn replacing Marissa Sheva. Then minutes before kick-off, Heather Payne had to be replaced by Áine O'Gorman due to injury.

This Ireland team have a habit of responding well to set-backs and they showed that with a solid first-half display. At least up until Julia Grosso's cross in the dying minutes took a deflection off Megan Connolly before bouncing into the back of the net.

At half-time, Canada introduced Shelina Zadorsky, Sophie Schmidt and Christine Sinclair - bringing on over 600 games experience between them - while Ireland introduced teenager Abbie Larkin.

Canada's new approach saw them put Ireland under more pressure and they benefitted from that by taking the lead when Adrianna Leon converted from inside the penalty area.

Goalkeeper Courtney Brosnan made a couple of fine saves before the Girls in Green shifted into a more attacking structure and they applied lots of pressure on the Canadian backline.

Player of the Match McCabe went close with with a brilliant solo effort and Kyra Carusa headed over with a good chance. They just couldn't draw level and therefore lost their second straight game in Group B.

Canada: Kailen Sheridan; Jayde Riviere, Kadeisha Buchanan (Shelina Zadorsky 46), Vanessa Gilles, Ashley Lawrence; Quinn, Julia Grosso (Christine Sinclair 46); Adriana Leon (Cloe Lacasse 57), Jessie Fleming, Jordyn Huitema; Evelyn Viens (Sophie Schmidt 46).

Ireland: Courtney Brosnan; Áine O'Gorman (Marissa Sheva 57), Niamh Fahey, Louise Quinn, Megan Connolly, Katie McCabe (capt); Ruesha Littlejohn (Lily Agg 65), Denise O’Sullivan; Lucy Quinn (Abbie Larkin 46), Sinead Farrelly (Izzy Atkinson 65); Kyra Carusa (Amber Barrett 65).

Referee: Laura Fortunato (Argentina)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design