Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
04.09.1999 at 15:00 Foxboro Stadium Attendance: 30564
USA 5 - 0 Ireland
Referee: Friendly-match

Milbrett Goal 25', 59'
Foudy Goal 38'
Fawcett Goal 72'
Lilly Goal 75'
Opening squads
Pearce ,
Emma Byrne
Dolores Deasley
Abigail Colleen Walsh
Sylvia Gee
Ciara Mary Grant
Rosaline Catherine Power
Carol Madeline Conlon
Holly Pearce
Grainne Kierans
Margaret Mary Saurin
Claire Scanlon
Yvonne Tracy
Susan Heapes
Niamh Connolly
Sonya Francis Maher
Emma Kilduff
Ducar for Webber 46 mins,
Chastain for Overbeck 46 mins,
Mac Millan for Pearce 46 mins
Venturini for Foudy 46 mins,
Whalen for Parlow 58 mins,
Sonya Francis Maher -> Carol Madeline Conlon (46)
Susan Heapes -> Abigail Colleen Walsh (46)
Niamh Connolly -> Sylvia Gee (58)
Emma Kilduff -> Ciara Mary Grant (69)
Yvonne Tracy -> Holly Pearce (79)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
The Irish senior ladies team had their toughest ever test on September 4 when they travelled to Boston to take on World Champions, the USA.

It was the Americans first showing since capturing the title in July and they produced an exhibition, goals by Tiffany Milnbrett (25, 59), Julie Foudy (38), Joy Fawcett (72) and Kristine Lilly (75) giving them a comfortable victory.

Considering that eight US players had more international caps than the entire Irish team (88) and that two players, Lilly and Mia Hamm had more than double that of the Ireland squad, the gap between the sides was understandable.

The game attracted 30,564 to the Foxboro Stadium.

USA - Webber (Ducar 46); Overbeck (Chastain 46), Sobrero, Pearce (MacMillan 46), Roberts, Fawcett, Lilly, Foudy (Venturini 46), Milbrett, Parlow (Whalen 58), Hamm.

IRELAND - Byrne; Conlon (Maher 46), Power, Walsh (Heapes 46), Deasley, Grant (Kilduff 69), Gee (Connelly 58), Pierce (Tracey 79), Saurin, Kierns, Scanlon.

SQUAD - Goalkeepers: Emma Byrne (Fortuna, Denmark), Emma Merrigan (St Brendans);

Defenders: Rosie Power (Benfica, Waterford), Paula O'Neill (Shamrock Rvrs), Dolores Deasley (Letterkenny), Yvonne Treacy (Lifford), Emma Kilduff (Maynooth);

Midfielders: Carol Conlon (Arsenal, UK), Ciara Grant (Arsenal, UK), Bernie Reilly (Shamrock Rvrs)(C), Margaret Saurin (Shamrock Rvrs), Sylvia Gee (Benfica, Waterford), Niamh Connolly (Bealnamulla), Grainne Kearns (Fortuna, Denmark), Holly Pearce (FSV Frankfurt);

Forwards: Geraldine O'Shea (Listowel), Carmel Kissane (Benfica, Waterford), Claire Scanlon (Shelbourne).

Technical Staff - Bobby Geoghegan (Asst. Manager); Sue Ronan (Asst. Manager), Mick Spillane (Physio), Phil O'Neill (Kit Manager).

The Republic of Ireland women's football squad leaves today for Boston where they will be the first team to play the United States since the Americans won the recent World Cup.

The match will be played at the Foxboro Stadium on Saturday afternoon (9.30 Irish time) and will be followed immediately afterwards by a Major League Soccer match between New England Revolution and Tampa Bay. Given the huge attendances and television audiences for the World Cup it is the women's match, which will be broadcast live on American television, that is likely to prove by far the greater attraction.

Team manager Mick Cooke described the prospect of facing the Americans as "daunting", particularly because contractual obligations arising out of the arrangements for the World Cup oblige the US management to field a strong team.

"The hype over there seems to be phenomenal," he said. For the Americans, who expect a full house at Foxboro, the match is an opportunity to fulfill a commitment given to play in each of the five World Cup venues in which they did not play during the competition itself. The decision to extend an invitation to the FAI to provide the opposition in Boston is hardly a coincidence.

The Irish, meanwhile, will be using the game as preparation for their forthcoming European Championship qualifiers against Scotland and the Czech Republic (both away) as well as Croatia at home.

Ireland Squad: Emma Byrne (St Patrick's Athletic), Emma Merigan (St Brendan's), Rosie Power (WSV, Germany), Paula O'Neill (Shamrock Rovers) Yvonne Tracy (Lifford), Abbey Walsh (Millwall Lionesses), Dolores Deasy (Letterkenny Rovers), Carol Conlon (Arsenal), Ciara Grant (Arsenal), Holly Pearce (Minnesota), Sylvia Gee (Benfica/U.L.), Margaret Saurin (Shamrock Rovers), Susan Heapes (St Catherine's), Grainne Kierans (Fortuna), Emma Kilduff (Maynooth), Claire Scanlon (Alabama), Niamh Connolly (Bealnamulla), Ger O'Shea (Listowel), Sonya Maher (Boston).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design