Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
14.06.2014 at 15:00 Tallaght Stadium Attendance:
Ireland 1 - 0 Croatia
Referee: Karolina Radzik-Johan (Poland) World Cup Qualifier-match

Denise O Sullivan (93)
Opening squads
Emma Byrne
Niamh Fahey
Dora Gorman
Siobhan Killeen
Louise Quinn
Stephanie Roche
Karen Duggan
Aine O Gorman
Julie Ann Russell
Denise O Sullivan
Fiona O Sullivan
Petrovic ,
Niamh Reid Burke
Mary Therese Mc Donnell
Meabh De Burca
Diane Caldwell
Ciara Grant (93)
Shannon Smyth
Ruesha Littlejohn
Doris Bačić (G)
Katarina Kolar
Kristina Šundov
Mateja Andrlić
Viktorija Stvorić
Ruesha Littlejohn -> Siobhan Killeen (66)
Diane Caldwell -> Dora Gorman (77)
Ciara Grant (93) -> Fiona O Sullivan (95)
Kolar for Petrovic 46 mins,
Sundov for Salek 75 mins,
Stvoric for Lojna 90+2 mins
Yellow cards
None. Violeta Baban 26 mins.
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview

Pictures from the match
Republic of Ireland 1 – 0 Croatia

An injury-time winner from Denise O’Sullivan earned the Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team a crucial victory against Croatia in their FIFA World Cup qualifier at Tallaght Stadium on Saturday evening.

The 20-year-old midfielder grabbed her third goal of the campaign, and eighth in 28 appearances for Ireland, when she steered home from close range after a Stephanie Roche cross has been knocked down to her by striker Fiona O’Sullivan.

Russia beat Slovenia 2-1 in the night’s other Group 1 game but the Irish can haul themselves back into contention for a World Cup play-off spot if they take three points from their game away to the Russians on Thursday.

“I think the win was no more than we deserved,” said Ireland manager Sue Ronan. “They made it very hard for us but we kept our composure throughout, kept trying to the right things and had the character to keep plugging away before finally getting the winning goal in injury-time.”

Republic of Ireland: Byrne; O’Gorman, Quinn, Fahey, Duggan; Gorman (Caldwell 78), Roche; Killeen (Littlejohn 66), D O’Sullivan, Russell; F O’Sullivan (Grant 90+4).

Croatia: Vuk; Hercigonja-Moulton, Balog, Nevrkla, Zigic; Petrovic (Kolar 46), Gaiser; Lojna (Stvoric 90), Baban, Salek (Sundov 75); Joscak.

Referee: Karolina Radzik-Johan (Poland)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design