Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
05.04.2014 at 15:00 Tallaght Stadium Attendance:
Ireland 2 - 3 Germany
Referee: World Cup Qualifier-match

Louise Quinn (3)
Stephanie Roche (89)
Laudehr 65 mins,
Lena Lotzen 84 mins,
Melanie Leupola 90+1 min
Opening squads
Emma Byrne
Meabh De Burca
Sophie Perry
Dora Gorman
Louise Quinn
Shannon Smyth
Aine O Gorman
Julie Ann Russell
Denise O Sullivan
Megan Campbell
Fiona O Sullivan
Niamh Reid Burke
Karen Duggan
Ciara Grant (93)
Siobhan Killeen
Diane Caldwell
Stephanie Roche
Ruesha Littlejohn
Almuth Schult (G)
Lena Lotzen
Melanie Leupolz
Alexandra Popp
Pauline Bremer
Luisa Wensing
Sara Däbritz
Ciara Grant (93) -> Shannon Smyth (58)
Stephanie Roche -> Fiona O Sullivan (81)
Diane Caldwell -> Dora Gorman (85)
Lotzen for Kemme 46 mins,
Leupolz for Behringer 59 mins,
Popp for Kebler 70 mins
Yellow cards
Meabh De Burca (68)
Emma Byrne (82)
Melanie Leupolz 69 mins
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
Late German winner denies Ireland

Republic of Ireland 2 Germany 3

The Republic of Ireland Women’s National Team came agonisingly close to achieving a major result against European champions and World No.2 Germany this afternoon at Tallaght Stadium.

A freak injury time goal from Melanie Leupolz gave the relieved Germans their sixth win of the 2015 FIFA World Cup qualification campaign as the Irish became the first team in 16 games to score more than once against Silvia Neid’s team.

Right from the beginning the Germans were left in no doubt that Ireland’s recent climb up the world ranking to 30th and their run of just two defeats in 12 games over the past 13 months was no flash in the pan.

In the third minute central defender Louise Quinn headed Ireland into the lead and they held that advantage until 65th minute when the Germans equalised from a Simone Laudehr penalty. Germany then took the lead in the 84th minute through Lena Lotzen, even though the German appeared to have fouled Ireland goalkeeper Emma Byrne who was making a record 106th appearance for her country.

However, the Irish showed tremendous character and substitute Stephanie Roche scored from close range in the 89th minute to make it 2-2 and leave the Irish on the verge of a famous result. But, in injury time, a cross-cum-shot from Leupolz looped over Byrne and into the Irish net for an extremely fortuitous winner.

Ireland next game is on May 7 against Russia at Tallaght Stadium.

Republic of Ireland: Byrne; De Burca, Quinn, Campbell, Perry; Smyth (Grant 59), Gorman (Caldwell 85); O’Gorman, D O’Sullivan, Russell; F O’Sullivan (Roche 81).

Germany: Angerer; Schmidt, Krahn, Henning, Kemme (Lotzen 46); Laudehr, Goebling, Kebler (Popp 70), Behringer (Leupolz 59); Mittag, Marozsan.

Referee: Carina Vitulano (ITA).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design