Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
29.05.2011 at 18:30 Aviva Stadium Attendance: 17694
Republic of Ireland 1 - 0 Scotland
Referee: Mark Whitby (Wales) Carling Nations Cup / Prog/TS-match

Robbie Keane (23)
Opening squads
Shay Given
Stephen Ward
Darren O'Dea
Stephen Kelly
Paul Mc Shane
Keith Fahey
Steve Hunt
Keith Andrews
Simon Cox
Liam Lawrence
Robbie Keane
Allan McGregor
Steven Whittaker
Phil Bardsley
Grant Hanley
Christophe Berra
Barry Robson
Scott Brown
Charlie Adam
Kenny Miller
Steven Naismith
James Forrest
Darren Randolph
David Forde
Sean St Ledger
Kevin Foley
Damien Delaney
Seamus Coleman
Keith Treacy
Andrew Keogh
Matthew Gilks
Iain Turner
Gary Caldwell
Russell Martin
Danny Wilson
James McArthur
Barry Bannan
Ross McCormack
Chris Maguire
Seamus Coleman -> Liam Lawrence (62)
Kevin Foley -> Darren O'Dea (66)
Keith Treacy -> Robbie Keane (83)
Barry Bannan for Adam 62 mins,
Chris maguire for Robson 74 mins,
Yellow cards
Paul Mc Shane (42)
Keith Fahey (48)
Charlie Adam 62 mins,
Kenny Miller 76 mins;
Red cards
None. None
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview

Pictures from the match
Carling Nations Cup

Republic of Ireland 1-0 Scotland

Robbie Keane's 49th international goal was enough for the Republic of Ireland to win this evening's Carling Nations Cup decider against Scotland at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.

The Ireland captain received a pass from Paul McShane just inside the Scotland before careering on a weaving run which ended with him drilling a low shot with his left-foot inside the near post of Scotland goalkeeper Allan McGregor.

Both nations had beaten Northern Ireland and Wales to set up this clincher and Philip Bardsley came close for the Scots on 16 minutes by floating a shot from 25 yards which Shay Given was forced to tip onto the crossbar.

Scotland made a fist of getting back into it in the second half, with Kenny Miller particularly menacing in attack.

The Rangers striker squandered a glaring chance to equalise three minutes from the end after he'd shrugged off the challenge of Ireland defender only to curl his shot from the edge of the box wide of the post.

Republic of Ireland: Given (Manchester City); McShane (Hull City), O'Dea (Celtic), Kelly (Fulham), Ward (Wolves); Lawrence (Portsmouth), Andrews (Blackburn Rovers), Fahey (Birmingham City), Hunt (Wolves); Keane (Tottenham Hotspurs), Cox (West Brom).

Scotland: McGregor; Whittaker, Hanley, Berra, Bardsley, Naismith, Brown, Adam, Robson, Forrest, Miller.

The Republic of Ireland celebrated their first win over Scotland in Dublin in 48 years by lifting the inaugural Carling Nations Cup with an impeccable record after a round robin series that also involved Northern Ireland and Wales.

The Republic won all three matches and manager Giovanni Trapattoni will be particularly pleased that the team went through the tournament without conceding a goal.

This amounted to a magnificent tribute to a defence that was missing so many of Ireland's most experienced players and included a debutant in Stephen Ward for the final two matches against Northern Ireland and Scotland.

Most pleased of all, one suspects, was goalkeeper Shay Given. His season was ruined by a shoulder injury that kept him out of Ireland's most recent international matches and also ruined his prospects of winning back his number one spot with Manchester City.

The win over Scotland was achieved after a very difficult challenge from a committed Scotland who would not have been flattered had they achieved a draw.

Indeed Scotland dominated the final twenty minutes and will look back regretting the inability of their team captain, Kenny Miller, to convert their best opportunity. Miller had strong claims for a penalty denied but when he worked clear of the defence in the 88th minute he looked odds on to score but drove his shot wide as Stephen Kelly and goalkeeper Given put pressure on him.

Ireland's central defender, Stephen Kelly, was voted 'Man of the Match' and he said afterwards: "It was a great week for us and we are very pleased to have won the Carling Nations Cup.

"To win any international game is great and it will give us the confidence to go on now and concentrate on the UEFA match against Macedonia next Saturday.

"The good work we have done in the past week will stand to us and we will be hoping to take that into the game in Macedonia."

Ireland celebrated with champagne and ticker-tape at the presentation of the attractive new trophy. It was their first trophy win since 1986 when Ireland, under Jack Charlton, won a tournament in Iceland.

Team captain Robbie Keane illustrated once again just why he is a special talent by scoring the winning goal. It came in the 23rd minute when Keane took a pass from Paul McShane and ran from inside his own half before firing a left-foot shot under the body of goalkeeper Allan McGregor from 25 yards.

Keane's achievement brought his tally of goals to 49 in 107 internationals for Ireland, a return that places him amongst the most efficient goal-scorers in the international game. His total brought him level on goals scored with England's historic record-holder, Bobby Charlton.

Keane said afterwards: "The talk all week was of Bobby Charlton's record so it was nice to equal that but the important thing is that it is good to win any game and I believed we deserved to do that.

"The win will help to keep our confidence up and we can concentrate now on the upcoming game against Macedonia in the UEFA Championship and we must focus on that for Saturday.

"Wed've had a good week, we've won both our matches and we will hope to take that good feeling into our next match."



08/02/'11 - Republic of Ireland 3-0 Wales

09/02/'11 - Scotland 3-0 Northern Ireland

24/05/'11 - Republic of Ireland 5 - 0 Northern Ireland

25/05/'11 - Wales 1 - 3 Scotland

27/05/'11 - Northern Ireland 0 - 2 Wales

29/05/'11 - Republic of Ireland 1 - 0 Scotland, Aviva Stadium.


3 - Robbie Keane (R of I) - one pen,

2 - Kenny Miller (Scotland), Robert Earnshaw (Wales).

1 - Darron Gibson (R of I), Damien Duff (R of I), Keith Fahey (R of I), Stephen Ward (R of I), James McArthur (Scotland), Kris Commons (Scotland), James Morrison (Scotland), Cristof Berra (Scotland), Simon Cox (R of I), Aaron Ramsey (Wales).

Own Goals: Craig Cathcart (Northern Ireland)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design