Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
18.10.2010 at 15:00 Attendance:
Macedonia 0 - 4 Womens International Under 17
Referee: European Qualifier / r-match

None None.
Opening squads
None None.
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
U17 Women power past Macedonia
Created on Monday, 18 October 2010 22:07

UEFA Under-17 Women's First Phase Qualifier
Republic of Ireland 4-0 FYR Macedonia
Shauna Newman 13
Claire Shine 19, 46
Katie McCabe 45

The Republic of Ireland Women's Under-17 team made it two wins from their opening pair of UEFA first phase qualifiers in Belfast today (Monday) by overpowering FYR Macedonia.

Shauna Newman set Ireland on their way with a 13th minute opener which Claire Shine doubled six minutes later.

Katie McCabe added the third five minutes into the second half before Shine, from the Douglas Hall club in Cork, grabbed her second and Ireland's fourth a minute later.

The victory was required to maintain Ireland's qualifying momentum as, although a 1-0 win was secured over Northern Ireland on Saturday's opener, group rivals Czech Republic displayed their intentions by recording back to back victories against Macedonia (8-0) and Northern Ireland (3-0).

Ireland and Czech Republic will now go head to head in Thursday's final game at Lurgan for the one automatic place into the elite phase of the qualifiers.

Harry Kenny's Ireland were completely dominant at Seaview and could have gone in at the break five or six goals to the good.

They instead had to settle for just the two. Macedonia weathered the Ireland charge for twelve minutes until Shauna Newman found the net with a terrific free-kick.

Shine was on hand to convert seven minutes later and Ireland missed further opportunities which fell to Rianna Jarrett and Katie McCabe.

Ireland's supremacy was underlined with two more strikes early in the second half a minute apart through Katie McCabe and Shine's second.

REP OF IRELAND: Budden (Wilton United), Mustaki (St. Joseph's), Newman (St. Francis), O'Connell (Wilton United), Lauren Murphy (Wilton United), Hansberry (Strand Celtic), Kavanagh (St. Joseph's), Deeney (St. Joseph's), McCabe (St. Francis), Shine (Douglas Hall), Jarrett (Curracloe).

Substitutions: Walsh (Raheny United) for Kavanagh (53 mins), Cahill (St. Joseph's) for Kavanagh (65 mins), Lynch (Wilton United) for McCabe (70 mins).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design