Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
09.07.2005 at 13:00 Moskvich - Moscow Attendance:
Russia 5 - 1 Ireland
Referee: Tanja Schett (AUT) World Cup Qualifier-match

Olesya Kurochkina 2 mins;
Tatiana Zaitseva 33 mins;
Sharon Boyle og 35mins;
Natalia Mokshanova 42 mins;
Natalia Barbashina 48 mins;
Michele O Brien
Opening squads
Maria Pigaleva
Tatiana Skotnikova
Tatiana Zaitseva
Oksana Shmachkova
Galina Komarova
Olga Sergaeva
Olesya Kurochkina
Elena Terekhova
Natalia Barbashina
Elena Fomina
Natalia Mokshanova
Sarah Peters
Dolores Deasley
Ciara Mary Grant
Marie Curtin
Elaine O Connor
Yvonne Tracy
Sharon Boyle
Sonya Hughes
Denise Thomas
Michele O Brien
Laura Hislop
Ekatarina Makarenkova
Olga Letyushova
Elena Jikhareva
Elena Morozova
Olga Petrova
Ksenia Tsybutovich
Ekaterina Chemiakina
Emma Byrne
Edel Malone
Marie Gallagher
Carmel Kissane
Emma Griffin
Claire Scanlon
Kacey O Driscoll
Elena Terekhova (out)
Elena Morozova (in) 67 mins;
Natalia Mokshanova (out)
Olga Letyushova (in) 67 mins;
Tatiana Zaitseva (out)
Elena Jikhareva (in) 73 mins;
Kacey O Driscoll -> Laura Hislop
Claire Scanlon -> Sonya Hughes
Carmel Kissane -> Laura Hislop
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Match report
Russia made a winning start to their 2007 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying campaign by defeating the Republic of Ireland 5-1 at the Moskvich stadium today.

Early strike
Olessya Kurochkina set them on their way with a goal in the second minute, a lead which was doubled by Tatiana Zaytseva in the 33rd. Irish hopes of holding out until the interval were dashed by Sharon Boyle's own goal two minutes later and Natalia Mokchanova ensured the home side would go in four goals to the good at half-time.

O'Brien on target
Even after conceding a fifth to the lively Natalia Barbachina in the 48th minute, Irish heads never dropped and Michelle O'Brien scored their first qualifying goal with 20 minutes remaining.

World champions
Russia will have to be in peak form in every game in Group 4 if they are to push the world and European champions Germany all the way. Switzerland and Scotland complete the pool.
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design