Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
30.10.2008 at 18:10 Laugardalsvöllur - Reykjavik - Iceland Attendance:
Iceland 3 - 0 Ireland
Referee: Christine Beck (GER) European Final Play off-match

Dóra María Lárusdóttir 23 mins;
Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir 60 mins;
Dóra María Lárusdóttir 69 mins;
Opening squads
María Björg Ágústsdóttir
Gudrún Sóley Gunnarsdóttir
Olína Gudbjörg Vidarsdóttir
Katrín Jónsdóttir
Ásta Árnadóttir
Hólmfrídur Magnúsdóttir
Dóra Stefánsdóttir
Edda Gardarsdóttir
Margrét Lára Vidarsdóttir
Dóra María Lárusdóttir
Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir
Emma Byrne
Ciara Mary Grant
Mary Therese Mc Donnell
Yvonne Tracy
Alisha Moran
Niamh Fahey
Meabh De Burca
Stefanie Curtis
Michele O Brien
Jemma Connor
Aine O Gorman
Gudbjörg Gunnarsdóttir
Harpa Thorsteinsdóttir
Embla Sigrídur Grétarsdóttir
Sif Atladóttir
Erla Steina Amardóttir
Katrín Ómarsdóttir
Rakel Hönnudóttir
Lynn Bradley
Sharon Boyle
Denise Thomas
Sonya Hughes
Louise Quinn
Stephanie Roche
Olivia O Toole
Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (out)
Katrín Ómarsdóttir (in) 84 mins;
Olivia O Toole -> Jemma Connor (54)
Sonya Hughes -> Meabh De Burca (77)
Stephanie Roche -> Stefanie Curtis (86)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
None None.
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report | Preview
Iceland 3-0 Republic of Ireland (Iceland win 4-1 on aggregate)

Noel King’s Republic of Ireland women’s senior side were defeated by 3-0 by Iceland in the UEFA Women’s EURO 2009, 2nd leg play-off in Iceland last night. Difficult, icy conditions at the Reykjavik venue played a large part for both teams but it was Iceland who adapted better and scored three goals without reply to secure their place at the EURO 2009 finals.

Two goals from Lárusdóttir and one from Vidarsdóttir ensured that the Iceland women‘s team advanced to the UEFA Championship finals in Finland next year at the expense of Ireland who can take great credit for a solid performance in such difficult conditions in Iceland.

Iceland started the game the stronger of the two sides and Irish goalkeeper, Emma Byrne was called into action in the second minute as Iceland striker, Vidarsdóttir struck a half volley from six yards out but Byrne was well placed to palm her shot around the post.

Midfielder, Magnúsdóttir came close for Iceland four minutes later as she made a perfectly timed run from midfield but her header from 15 yards clipped the top of Emma Byrne‘s upright.

Iceland were ahead after 24 minutes through the boot of Dóra María Lárusdóttir who ran on to a half clearance from the Irish defence at the edge of the box, her looping shot dropped dropped under the crossbar to give her side the lead.

The Irish came out after the half-time break with a confident style of play as they pushed up deep and took the game to their opponents. The introduction of Olivia O‘Toole after 52 minutes almost paid off instantly as she got on the end of a long ball and flicked it into the path of Mary Therese McDonnell in the box but the Icelandic keeper was out quick to clear the danger.

As the Irish pushed forward in search of a vital away goal, Iceland started to hit their counterparts on the break but Emma Byrne was in outstanding form in goal as she came to the rescue for the Irish on a number of occassions.

Iceland doubled their lead on the hour mark as midfielder, Lárusdóttir crossed from the right and striker, Vidarsdóttir was on hand at the near post to nod her effort past Byrne to all but end Ireland‘s dream of qualifying for their first major finals.

Iceland wrapped up the scoring after 69 minutes as Lárusdóttir grabbed her second of the night, she ran on to a clever throughball and raced past Irish defender, Meabh de Burcha and as Emma Byrne tried to close down her angle, she cleverly powered the ball into the top left hand corner to make it 3-0.

Republic of Ireland
Emma Byrne, Alisha Moran, Niamh Fahey, Yvonne Treacy, Meabh De Burcha, Mary T McDonnell, Ciara Grant, Jemma O’Connor, Michele O’Brien, Jerseys Sky Blue
Aine O’Gorman, Stefanie Curtis

Substitutes:Olivia O’Toole on for Jemma O’ Connor (52mins), Sonya Hughes on for Meabh de Burca (75 mins), Stephanie Roche on for Stefanie Curtis (85 mins)
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design