Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
02.04.1997 at 00:00 City Stadium Skopje Attendance: 8000
FYR Macedonia 3 - 2 Republic of Ireland
Referee: Alfredo Trentalange World Cup Qualifier / PROG-match

Mitko Stojkovski 29, 44 mins (pen)
Georgi Hristov 60
Alan Mc Loughlin (8)
David Kelly (78)
Opening squads
Danco Celeski
Dejvi Glavevski
Vlatko Gosev
Georgi Hristov
Ljupco Markovski
Risto Milosavov
Igor Nikolovski
Djevdet Sainovski
Artim Sakiri
Goce Sedloski
Mitko Stojkovski
Alan Kelly Jnr
Terry Phelan
Gary Breen
Denis Irwin
Steve Staunton
Jason Mc Ateer
Alan Mc Loughlin
Roy Keane
Andy Townsend
Jon Goodman
Tony Cascarino
Ian Harte
Keith O'Neill
David Kelly
Husni Beganovic for Georgi Hristov 78 mins,
Blagoje Georgioski for Djevdet Sainovski 82 mins,
Vanco Micevski for Dejvi Glavevski 87 mins
Keith O'Neill -> Tony Cascarino (46)
Ian Harte -> Terry Phelan (57)
David Kelly -> Keith O'Neill (76)
Yellow cards
None None.
Red cards
Mitko Stojkovski 90 mins; Jason Mc Ateer (90)
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Match 327
Wednesday, April 2, 1997

World Cup qualifier

Macedonia 3 (Stojkovski 1 pens, Hristov)
Republic of Ireland 2 (McLoughlin, Kelly)

AS PETER Byrne wrote in The Irish Times,“garbed in something approaching fluorescent amber, Ireland often projected the appearance of a gang of council workers . . . but significantly less productive”.

Macedonia’s only previous wins in their six years as an international side had been against Liechtenstein and Cyprus, so when Alan McLoughlin put Ireland 1-0 up with a header after just eight minutes it seemed unlikely that they’d go on to enjoy their third.

But from there it was all downhill for the visitors, Macedonia 2-1 up by half-time after Jason McAteer and Terry Phelan gave away penalties for handball. It was 3-1 on the hour mark when Georgi Hristov fired past Alan Kelly, and although David Kelly pulled a goal back there was to be no equaliser. The day was topped off by McAteer’s red card for a karate kick on Mitko Stojkovski.

Ireland went on to finish second in the group, behind Romania, losing to Belgium in the play-offs.

IRELAND: Alan Kelly; Denis Irwin, Gary Breen, Steve Staunton, Terry Phelan; Jason McAteer, Andy Townsend, Roy Keane, Alan McLoughlin; Jon Goodman, Tony Cascarino. Subs: Keith O’Neill (for Cascarino 46), Ian Harte (for Phelan 56), David Kelly (for O’Neill 76), Kenny Cunningham, Alan Moore, Shay Given, Jeff Kenna.
Ireland: Alan Kelly (Sheffield Utd), Jason McAteer (Liverpool), Denis Irwin (Manchester Utd), Alan McLoughlin (Portsmouth), Gary Breen (Coventry), Steve Staunton (Aston Villa), Andy Townsend (Aston Villa), Roy Keane (Manchester Utd), Tony Cascarino (AS Nancy), Jon Goodman (Wimbledon), Terry Phelan (Everton)

Subs: Keith O'Neill (Norwich) for Cascarino 45 mins, Ian Harte (Leeds) for Phelan 56 mins, David Kelly (Sunderland) for O'Neill 75 mins

Sent off: Jason McAteer

Manager: Mick McCarthy
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design