Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
11.11.2021 at 19:45 Aviva Stadium Attendance:
Republic of Ireland 0 - 0 Portugal
Referee: Jesús Gil Manzano World Cup Qualifier / PROG-match

None. None
Opening squads
Gavin Bazunu
Enda Stevens
Seamus Coleman
Shane Duffy
Matt Doherty
John Egan
Josh Cullen
Jeff Hendrick
Jamie Mc Grath
Callum Robinson
Chiedozie Ogbene
Rui Patrício,
Nélson Semedo,
Diogo Dalot,
Cristiano Ronaldo ©,
André Silva,
Matheus Nunes,
Bruno Fernandes ,
Gonçalo Guedes,
João Palhinha.
Caoimhin Kelleher
Mark Travers
Nathan Collins
Jason Knight
Conor Hourihane
Callum O Dowda
Alan Browne
Ryan Manning
Troy Parrott
Adam Idah
James Mc Clean
Will Keane
José Sá (G)
Diogo Costa (G)
Rúben Dias
José Fonte
João Moutinho
William Carvalho
Rafael Leão
Renato Sanches
Rúben Neves
João Cancelo
Diogo Jota
João Félix
Adam Idah -> Jamie Mc Grath (61)
James Mc Clean -> Enda Stevens (78)
Conor Hourihane -> Jeff Hendrick (78)
Will Keane -> Chiedozie Ogbene (91)
João Moutinho for Nunes 55 mins;
Rafael Leão for Guedes 55 mins
João Félix for Silva 74 mins;
Renato Sanches for Fernandes 74 mins,
Jose Fonte for Leao 83 mins.
Yellow cards
Chiedozie Ogbene (29)
Seamus Coleman (54)
Callum Robinson (93)
Danilo 71 mins,
Pepe 72 mins;
Pepe 82 mins
Red cards
None. Pepe 82 mins(2 Yellow)
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Ireland 0-0 Portugal - Ireland denied late win

The Republic of Ireland secured another point in this qualification group with an impressive scoreless draw against Portugal at the Aviva Stadium.
11th Nov 2021

Stephen Kenny’s men were impressive throughout and went close with chances of note from Josh Cullen and Chiedozie Ogbene.

The early exchanges of the first half saw the away side look to take an early lead, Cristiano Ronaldo got in behind the Irish defence but Matt Doherty was on hand to force the ball away for a corner.

Gavin Bazunu then made an excellent save to stop André Silva’s rising effort, the resulting corner was cleared by Josh Cullen. Callum Robinson had the first sight on goal for the home side as he cut inside from the left-wing onto his right foot and his effort from distance forced a smart save from Rui Patrício.

John Egan had another opportunity for the home side from a Jamie McGrath corner but his header went wide of the target. Robinson once again had an opportunity after some clever link-up play between Jamie McGrath and Chiedozie Ogbebne, Robinson’s shot on the edge of the area just went past Patrício’s post.

The best chance of the half for Ireland came when Robinson's clever cross on the left was met by Ogbebne at the near post but he couldn’t direct his header on target.

Ireland started the second half brightly had a glimpse of goal early on, a mistake in the Portuguese defence saw Ogbene lay off a clever pass to Josh Cullen but his low curling effort was well saved.

Ronaldo had two big opportunities to put his side ahead but both went wide of the post, the first came when Andres Silva found the forward in the Ireland goal area with his header going just wide of Bazunu’s post, his second chance saw that curling effort from the left also go wide.

Portugal was reduced to ten men after Pepe received two yellow cards in the space of ten minutes, the defender was adjudged to have fouled Callum Robinson and was sent off for the challenge.

Ireland did try to put this numerical advantage to the test and looked like they had won it when Will Keane seemed to win the ball from Patrício cleanly to set up Matt Doherty but the referee pulled it back for a foul, so it ended goalless.

Republic of Ireland: Gavin Bazunu, Seamus Coleman ©, Enda Stevens (James McClean 78), Shane Duffy, John Egan, Josh Cullen, Callum Robinson, Matt Doherty, Jeff Hendrick (Conor Hourihane 78), Jamie McGrath (Adam Idah 60), Chiedozie Ogbene (William Keane 90).
Subs not used: Caoimhin Kelleher (GK), Mark Travers (GK), Nathan Collins, Alan Browne, Troy Parrott, Jason Knight, Ryan Manning, Callum O’Dowda.

Portugal: Rui Patrício, Nélson Semedo, Pepe, Diogo Dalot, Cristiano Ronaldo ©, André Silva (João Félix 74), Matheus Nunes (João Moutinho 55), Bruno Fernandes (Renato Sanches 74), Danilo, Gonçalo Guedes (Rafael Leão 55) (José Fonte 83), João Palhinha.
Subs not used: José Sá (GK), Diogo Costa (GK), Rúben Dias, William Carvalho, Rúben Neves, João Cancelo, Diogo Jota.

Booked: Chiedozie Ogbene, Seamus Coleman, Pepe, Danilo
Red Card: Pepe

Man of the Match: Callum Robinson
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design