Soccer Scene

Change:  Move to:
15.10.2019 at 20:45 Stade de Geneve Geneva Attendance:
Switzerland 2 - 0 Republic of Ireland
Referee: Szymon Marciniak (Poland) European Cup Qualifier / Prog-match

Seferovic 16 mins
Fernandes 90+3 mins,
Opening squads
Yann Sommer,
Stephen Lichsteiner,
Nico Elvedi,
Manuel Akanji,
Breel Embolo,
Haris Seferovic,
Granit Xhaka,
Ricardo Rodriguez,
Denis Zakaria,
Admir Mehmedi,
Fabian Schar.
Darren Randolph
Seamus Coleman
Enda Stevens
Shane Duffy
John Egan
Jeff Hendrick
Alan Browne
Glen Whelan
Aaron Connolly
James Collins
James Mc Clean
Yvon Mvogo (G)
Jonas Omlin (G)
Kevin Mbabu
Michael Lang
Remo Freuler
Renato Steffen
Eray C÷mert
Djibril Sow
Mario Gavranović
Josip Drmic
Edimilson Fernandes
Loris Benito
Kieran O Hara
Mark Travers
Matt Doherty
Kevin Long
Derrick Williams
Alan Judge
Josh Cullen
Conor Hourihane
Callum O Dowda
Callum Robinson
Scott Hogan
Seanie Maguire
E Fernandes for Mehmidi 29 mins,
Freuler for Lichsteiner 70 mins,
Streffen foe Embolo 88mins,
Callum O Dowda -> James Collins (46)
Scott Hogan -> Aaron Connolly (70)
Yellow cards
Xhaka 32 mins,
Akanji 47 mins,
Seamus Coleman (32)
Alan Browne (34)
Jeff Hendrick (55)
Shane Duffy (66)
Seamus Coleman (76)
Red cards
None Seamus Coleman (76)
Other statistics
0 Shots 0
0 Shots on goal 0
0 Offsides 0
0 Corner kicks 0
0 Free kicks 0
0 Penalties 0
Match report
Republic of Ireland suffered a setback in their bid to qualify for UEFA EURO 2020 as they were beaten 2-0 by Switzerland at the Stade de Geneve on Tuesday evening.

Haris Seferovic's finish and an unfortunate own goal from Shane Duffy was enough to separate the sides which means Mick McCarthy's side will now have to beat Denmark at the Aviva Stadium next month to secure automatic qualification to the Euros.

The Swiss had the first strike on goal after seven minutes but Darren Randolph did well to turn Granit Xhaka's powerful shot from distance wide of his right post.

But the Ireland shotstopper was beaten just past the quarter of an hour mark as striker Haris Seferovic superbly drilled the ball into the bottom right corner of the net from the edge of the box.

Ireland's best goal scoring opportunity of the first half fell to Shane Duffy but the towering centre back could only send his header from Glenn Whelan's corner kick straight at goalkeeper Yann Sommer.

The home side almost doubled their advantage at the beginning of the second half but Randolph again did brilliantly to turn Seferovic's close range header over the bar.

Ireland soon upped the tempo but shortly after John Egan flashed an effort wide from distance they were fortunate to see Fabian Schar's header from Ricardo Rodriguez's set piece crash against their right post.

The visitors were dealt a huge blow in the 77th minute when Seamus Coleman was given a second yellow card for handling the ball inside his penalty area.

But Ricardo Rodriguez failed to capitalise from the spot as Randolph tipped his penalty against the inside of the left upright before the defense scrambled the ball to safety.

The Boys in Green pressed for an equaliser late on but it wasn't to be and Shane Duffy turned Edimilson Fernandes attempt into his own net late on to secure the three points for Switzerland.

SWITZERLAND: Yann Sommer, Stephen Lichsteiner (Remo Freuler 70), Nico Elvedi, Manuel Akanji, Breel Embolo (Renato Steffen 88), Haris Seferovic, Granit Xhaka, Ricardo Rodriguez, Denis Zakaria, Admir Mehmedi (Edimilson Fernandes 29), Fabian Schar.

REPUBLIC OF IRELAND: Darren Randolph, Seamus Coleman, Enda Stevens, Shane Duffy, John Egan, Glenn Whelan, Alan Browne, James McClean, Jeff Hendrick, Aaron Connolly (Scott Hogan 70), James Collins (Callum O'Dowda ht).

Referee: Szymon Marciniak (Poland).
Powered by tplSoccerStats © 2003 TPL Design